Skip to content

Sustainability: a conscious choice

Polo Strategico Nazionale deploys state-of-the-art infrastructure and technology aimed at efficiently, sustainably, and securely guiding Public Administration through the process of digital service innovation. At the heart of the Hub are four (4), national, dual-regional, Data Centers. These are designed, built, and operated to provide infrastructures which have the energy efficiency needed, yet lower environmental impacts.


Data Centers: certified energy efficiency

Our Data Centers are designed in line with the requirements set out by the key energy certification bodies, thus guaranteeing the highest level of management process excellence.

Energy efficiency is pursued through:

  • the targeted design of industrial structures and plants using energy-efficient and environmentally-friendly components and technologies
  • using best-in-class IT equipment and products that offer greater compactness and lower power consumption, yet high processing capacity.


Infrastructure designed to the highest standards

The reliability of Polo Strategico Nazionale sites is confirmed by their achieving International Standard certifications and adopting virtuous “green-thinking” modes of conduct. With this in mind, some of our Data Centers have been awarded a TIER IV and ANSI/TIA 942 Rating 4, as well as an ISO50001 qualification for energy management.

Uptime Institute Tier IV e ANSI/TIA 942 Rating 4 

A Level IV Data Center has several independent, redundant, and physically isolated power supply and cooling systems. As such, power distribution and IT equipment cooling occurs via physically separate paths. Maximum overall system resilience is thereby achieved, ensuring the continuity of IT services in the face of individual component failures.

The ANSI/TIA 942 standard also guides the implementation of structural solutions in line with industry best practices. It further affords guaranteed reliability by applying criteria based on the site’s structural components.


Certified sustainability

ISO certifications attest to site energy efficiency. “ISO” stands for the “International Organisation for Standardisation”. This body establishes the technical standards entities need to meet to comply with specific evaluation parameters.

Environmental sustainability is measured by having both the relevant ISO certifications and adhering to the LEED® programme. The latter is a type of voluntary certification that can be applied to any type of building (commercial or residential) and covers its entire life cycle from design to construction.



This standard specifies the requirements for creating, starting up, maintaining, and improving an energy management system (EnMS). The ultimate goal is to enable an organisation to adopt a systematic approach to improving its overall energy performance and that of its EnMS.



This is the most internationally accepted standard for environmental management systems. It identifies a set of technical standards relating to environmental management and includes business rules relating to activities, products, and services. It also specifically refers to industrial waste disposal linked to particular processes.


LEED (Gold)

Developed by the US Green Building Council (USGBC), this standard is based on energy savings and water requirements, reducing CO2 emissions, improving the ecological quality of interiors, design, and site selection. It allocates a series of credits based on resources and the way they are used. The sum of the credits may lead to one of four certification levels: basic, gold, silver, or platinum.

Certified Service Management

Polo Strategico Nazionale’s ISO certifications focusing on service management recognise its reliability, organisational skills, and optimising of business processes.



This standard is based on a set of quality management principles. IT implies fulfilling the key features of having a strong customer-oriented focus, doing risk analysis, having an involved management, and engaging in continual improvement driven by objective measurements.



This international standard sets out information security best practices from an IT, as well as logical, physical/environmental, and organisational security perspective.


ISO 20000-1

This is a targeted certification addressing the management of Information Technology services. It considers consistency in IT service management and having a related, verified, technological infrastructure. The main objective is to establish whether an organisation has implemented a strategy for improving key management processes.